Day 54: Ecumenical Support

Twenty-five years ago, as I walked through the Richmond Mall, I saw a large panel exhibit commemorating Catholic Charities 75th Anniversary.  I was very inspired.  Because I am Presbyterian, I was not knowledgeable about Catholic Charities extensive work at that time.

Since that time, I have contributed to the Annual Appeal, included a bequest for Catholic Charities in my Will, established a Named Fund at the Catholic Community Foundation, become a member of the Heritage Society at the Catholic Community Foundation, contributed to Rose-Mary Center,

I also established an Annual Mass in May at the Cathedral in memory of my mother (who was Jewish) and father (who was Catholic) – they taught me to be very ecumenical in my giving and support.

-Dorothy T.

 

Catholic Charities serves anyone – regardless of their religious affiliation.  In 2011, over 42% of those we served identified themselves as a religion other than Catholic.  Our employees, volunteers, and donors have just a unique, diverse make-up.  As Christ instructed us to “love your neighbor as yourself” – we too at Catholic Charities love our neighbors without question.

To learn more about how you can become a giving donor like Dorothy – please visit the Catholic Community Foundation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.